Holiday Haul!

Basically, I have no self-control and a bunch of book shop gift vouchers left over from Christmas, so I came home with a much heavier case than when I went. Whilst I was away, I picked up quite a few books…

DSC_0417.JPG

I’m actually already part way through one of them, and so far I am really enjoying it. The others are by recommendation or because I loved the cover.

Here we go!

Plague by Michael Grant
Series: Gone series
Obtained: Bought from Oxfam (charity shop that specializes in books)
Genre: Sci-Fi dystopia
Right, so technically this one is cheating because I’ve already read it, but I’ve been looking for my own copy of this book for AGES. I read the series a couple of years ago by borrowing from the school library, but since then I’ve been collecting the set for myself by finding them in charity shops for £2 each. This holiday, I finally found Plague, my favourite book in the series, and the last one I need!!

Kid Got Shot by Simon Mason
Series: The Garvie Smith Mysteries
Obtained: Bought from Waterstones
Genre: Crime/Mystery
I loved Running Girl when I read it and so far I am loving the sequel. Garvie remains as sarcastic as ever and already I’m caught up in the twists and turns of the mystery.

Geekerella by Ashley Poston
Series: None
Obtained: Bought from Waterstones
Genre: Romance/Contemporary
I am so excited to read this one. Again, I’m a sucker for a good retelling and even if Cinderella isn’t one of my all time favourites, I still love reading something with a bit of magic. The fact that it’s nerd-based is just an added bonus.

The House of Mountfathom by Nigel McDowell
Series: None
Obtained: Bought from Waterstones
Genre: Fantasy
…so maybe I picked this one up because of the cover. It reminds me strangely of The Lie Tree (which I am yet to read) and The Grimm Legacy (which I love). Hopefully the story is as good as the cover!

Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks
Series: None
Obtained: Bought from an independent book store
Genre: Historical, WW1
My Lit teacher goes on about this book and how it links to the texts I’m studying, which got me curious. I’ll admit, this isn’t my usual choice, but I do enjoy a historical novel now and then.

A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard
Series: None
Obtained: Bought from Waterstones
Genre: Contemporary
Again, wanted to read this one for a long time, it seems like a light-hearted enough book so I’m looking forward to it. I adore the fact that it has the sign language alphabet on the inside of the cover (and counting to ten in the back) and it looks like such a sweet read.

I reckon Kid Got Shot and Geekerella will be read quite quickly – the others, I’m not so sure about, but hopefully once my exams are over (under a month now! Eek!) I can power through them.

That’s all for now!

Holly xx

Leave a Reply

