Fifty Bookish Questions Tag

This is a long one, folks! I’m back today with yet another book tag – this time found on My Little Book Blog, where anyone has been tagged to do it! It’s 50 questions, so I’ve tried to answer them as quickly as possible, because we all have things to do and places to be. Without further ado:

1.What was the last book you read?

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

2. Was it a good one?

So -so. See my review here.

3. What made it good?

See above! (The characters and the second half of the book is the short answer to that question.)

4. Would you recommend it to other people?

Yes, as long as they’re a fantasy lover

5. How often do you read?

Hmm, not as much as I used to, because exams, but I try to read as much as I can during the holidays.

6. Do you like to read?

Of course

7. What was the last bad book you read?

Ooh…House of Night #1, I’m afraid

8. What made you dislike it?

Lack of character development, mostly. See the full review here.

9. Do you wish to be a writer?

Yes, but at the moment that seems to have taken a back seat

10. Has any book every influenced you greatly?

Most books I read influence me, to be honest. Sometimes the influence is ‘please write a better book than this’.

11. Do you read fan fiction?

Yes, for a whole bunch of different fandoms

12. Do you write fan fiction?

Not so much now, but I used to a couple of years ago *shudders*

13. What’s your favourite book?

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

14. What’s your least favourite book?

I wouldn’t say I have a least favourite. I mean, House of Night ranks up there with the worst, but I don’t really remember any others that are horribly bad.

15. Do you prefer physical books or ready on a device (like a kindle)?

Actually, I quite like to read on my kindle! (Unpopular opinion, I know). I like being able to read immediately – I get so impatient! However, I do own mostly real books because they feel nicer to hold. (Also they look more impressive)

16. When did you learn to read?

At the age of about 4-5, I believe? Sometime in Reception at school.

17. What is your favourite book you had to read in school?

Ooh, that’s tough. I’d have to say Of Mice and Men or perhaps The Tempest (not technically a book, but I love it anyway).

18. What is your favourite book series?

So many. Vampire Academy, Harry Potter, The Infernal Devices…the list goes on.

19. Who is your favourite author?

Rick Riordan, without a doubt. Maggie Stiefvater is a close second!

20. What is your favourite genre?

Fantasy, usually, although I do love a good mystery book.

21. Who is your favourite character in a book series?

Are you seriously asking me to pick one? I have so many favourites it’s unreal.

22. Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

Yes, plenty of times.

23.Which book do you wish had a sequel?

The Night of the Solstice/Heart of Valour by L.J. Anderson are technically a duology, but she’s teased a third book which may or may not ever actually be written. I hope it is!

24. Which book do you wish DIDN’T have a sequel?

Divergent. The first book was decent, then it all went downhill…

25. How long does it take you to read a book?

Depends on whether I’m enjoying it or not – The Hidden Oracle, I read in a day. The Night Circus took me from October to New Year’s Eve. (Les Mis I started last March and am barely half-way through.)

26. Do you like when books become movies?

I actually do!

27. Which book was ruined by its movie adaptation?

Ooh…I like most  movie adaptations, if I’m being honest, but I’d have to say The Mortal Instruments.

28. Which movie has done a book justice?

Narnia did a pretty good job. The other one is Holes by Louis Sachar.

29. Do you read newspapers?

I pick one up if it happens to have an interesting title, but aside from that, no.

30: Do you read magazines?

More so than newspapers – I used to read a lot more of them (mostly Girl Talk and teen ones) but nowadays I read far fewer.

31. Do you prefer newspapers or magazines?

Magazines, for the sole reason of them being more colourful and less likely to fall to pieces if I drop them.

32. Do you read while in bed?

All the time.

33. Do you read while on the toilet?

Occasionally.

34. Do you read while in the car?

I try to, but either get told off because ‘car sickness’ or actually get car sick.

35. Do you read while in the bath?

Not anymore, since I had a close encounter of nearly dropping my book in the bath.

36. Are you a fast reader?

Yes.

37. Are you a slow reader?

…no.

38. Where is your favourite place to read?

My bedroom, either in bed or by the radiator.

39. Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

Depends on whether I’m engaged with it or not.

40. Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

Nope, I can happily read in the middle of a bustling café.

41. Who gave you your love for reading?

My parents, mostly, considering they both still sit and read all the time.

42. What book is next on your list to read?

I’m halfway through A Court of Mist and Fury (as well as 4 other books)

43. When did you start to read chapter books?

I actually remember this! When I was about six, at school, my teacher was doing guided reading and we read a chapter book.

44. Who is your favourite children’s book author?

Enid Blyton! She wrote so many books and people barely ever know who she is. In case you don’t recognise the name, she’s responsible for the Famous Five, The Secret Seven, The Five Find-Outers, Malory Towers, The Naughtiest Girl in the School, The Twins at St Clare’s, Noddy, The Magic Faraway Tree and The Wishing Chair, amongst so many others.

45. Which author would you most want to interview?

Can I say Shakespeare? I’m saying Shakespeare.

46. Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

Heh…also Shakespeare.

47. What book have you reread the most?

I don’t re-read books as often as I’d like, but I think Peter Pan has been read a few times by me.

48. Which books do you consider “classics”?

Any of the Penguin Classics or the black and white covered books. You know the ones I’m on about – if not, go to the classics section of your local library and look for them.

49. Which books do you think should be taught in every school?

Ooh…aside from the ones that are already taught (Of Mice and Men, Gatsby, An Inspector Calls, Shakespeare etc.) I’d love to see some of the more childish books in schools again. Peter Pan, Oliver Twist, Alice in Wonderland and that kind of thing.

50. Which books should be banned from all schools?

All books are a learning experience, even the bad ones. Don’t ban books.

And that’s me done! Feel free to do this book tag, and tag me so I can read your answers too!

Holly xx

2 thoughts on “Fifty Bookish Questions Tag

Leave a Reply

