A Court of Thorns and Roses – Book Review

20170214_192409.jpg

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J Maas
Paperback: 416 pages
Published: May 5th 2015 by Bloomsbury Children’s
My Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Summary (From Goodreads): When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Okay, I’ll admit that this has actually been on my to-read list for ages and I’ve been putting it off. However, the combined efforts of my sister and friends finally persuaded me, and I read it.

I’m not disappointed.

Not stunned or bowled over, but pleasantly surprised. Bear in mind that I’ve never read the Throne of Glass Series either, so this is my first voyage into the author’s world.

I liked the book, but I felt that it took a long time to get going. The first half, whilst necessary, is relatively dull. The second half is so much better and the pace really picked up because it became interesting.

Unlike Tamlin.
I have no idea what it was about him, but he just…bored me. He was bland and I’ve read his character a thousand times before with different names. I even prefer Amarantha as a character over him, because at least she’s got something about her.

Feyre, I liked. She was somewhat relatable and she was intelligent, but not Mary-Sueish. She’s very loyal, to the point of stupidity, but then again, so is Percy Jackson and I won’t complain about him.

Lucien is, I think, one of my favourites. He reminds me in many ways of Ariel from Eyes Like Stars and also of Jace Wayland/Lightwood/Herondale etc. because of his snark. The thing is, he’s not all snark, which is sufficient to make him interesting.

Now I’m going to talk about Rhysand.
Holy Hell.
Clearly, he is also my favourite. He’s a roller coaster of a character and at some points I honestly wanted to stab him, but at the same time give him a hug. I’m interested to see what’s going to happen in the second book regarding him and Feyre, considering he seems to genuinely care about her.

I feel like I should also mention my other favourite (yes, I know I have a lot): Nesta. What a Queen. She has a mind like steel and is such a badass that I’m hoping she shows up again in the second book, properly.

There was that one scene that I really liked, where Rhys sneaks into Feyre’s cell for a few minutes to escape from everyone and just lets his walls down. I’m a sucker for heart-to-heart scenes and that one is pretty far up on the list.

I feel like I skipped big parts of the backstory because I found myself skimming the pages telling what had happened. It happened in The Winner’s Curse and The Selection when I found myself having an info-dump in the guise of a history lesson (quite literally). I caught most of what happened, but it felt waaay to big to be resolved in one book by killing one person. Just saying.

In all, I enjoyed the book, but wasn’t dazzled by it – holding out hope for the second book!

Any thoughts?

Holly xx

One thought on “A Court of Thorns and Roses – Book Review

  1. Pingback: Fifty Bookish Questions Tag | *May Contain Spoilers*

Leave a Reply

