Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag

Okay, I actually haven’t done a book tag in a while and was hunting for one (I know) when I stumbled across the Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag on Dreamland Book Blog, where the lovely Beatrice has tagged anyone who wants to give it a go!
(The original tag was created by Book Syrup on YouTube, and this is the original video)

Here goes:

1) Best Colour Combo On A Book Cover
dsc_0126
Okay, for me that has to be Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. This book is honestly stunning – the blue and gold go together perfectly for me and they fit right in with the theme and genre of the novel.

2) Best Typography/Font On A Book Cover
DSC_0163.JPG
My favourite typography is from Briar Rose by Jana Oliver. I fell in love with the font in the shop, and I’m still in love with it now. The thorns perfectly capture the darker side to the tale and I reckon it’ll always spring to mind.

3) Best Simple Cover
DSC_0141.JPG
Does Running Girl by Simon Mason count as simple? I’m counting it as simple. I like it because it’s clean and straightforward, which I find hilarious because it’s about a murder and the mystery behind it which isn’t straightforward at all.

4) Best Endpages
DSC_0162.JPG
It was only when I started searching for endpages that I realised how few hardback copies of books I actually have. In the end I stumbled back across My True Love Gave to Me by various authors (edited by Stephanie Perkins) and found these cutesy endpages. They’re so festive and the bright pink really brightens up my bookshelf.

5) Best Map
dsc_0179
For this one, I have to go with The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani. Technically it’s a map of a school, but I’m a sucker for a good fantasy school with interesting names for places, so here it is.

6) Best Naked Hardback
DSC_0251.JPG
Again, I realised that I own basically no hardback books and the ones that I do literally have solid black covers with silver writing down the side. Not that I dislike them, because honestly I think they look awesome, but none of them particularly stand out. Virtually my only one with anything vaguely interesting on it is Summoner: The Novice by Taran Matharu and it’s a pentagram, so…yeah. Sorry guys!

7) Best Back Cover
dsc_0257
So I’m going back to my childhood with this series and it’s the Malory Towers series by Enid Blyton (who also wrote the Famous Five and Secret Seven books). The covers are just fun to look at and don’t have huge blocks of text covering up the illustrations.

8) Best Chapter Headers
Character Header Peter Pan.jpg
After much searching, I actually found two for this one – both of them Peter Pan retellings. The first one is Capt. Hook by J.V. Hart, and it has little illustrations about the chapter title that I don’t think I properly appreciated the first time round, so I may need to re-read it! The other one is The Child Thief by Brom, which has a much darker tone and illustrations that take up an entire page.

9) Best Illustrations
DSC_0234.JPG
Hands down Nicholas St. North by William Joyce. If you’ve watched Rise of the Guardians then you’ll recognise some of the characters, because the film is based on this series. I only own the first one, but the illustrations are absolutely stunning.

10) Best Spine
DSC_0231.JPG
For this one, I have two. Three Dark Crowns because it is bright green and it always catches my eye. The Darkest Part of the Forest because it’s one of the only ones that I can read of my shelf without squinting.

11) Favourite Cover On Your Shelves
DSC_0215.JPG
Okay, so I’m going to go for runners up first: Six of Crows, Eyes like Stars, The Night of the Solstice and Tiger Lily are all worthy contenders and I love them to pieces.
But my favourite has to be The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater, because it is gorgeous. The blue and the white make it stand out so much on my shelf and yep, it’s definitely my favourite.

So that’s the tag! I’m not tagging anyone to do it, but if you’d like to then please feel free!

Holly xx

Leave a Reply

