The Raven King – Book Review

20160709_204446.jpg

Title: The Raven King
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Paperback: 439 pages
Published: April 26th 2016 by Scholastic Press
My Rating: 5/5 stars

Summary (Goodreads):
For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

What a ride.

What.

A.

Ride.

After reading the second and third books in this series, my hopes weren’t exactly sky high (but still high enough). Imagine my surprise when this book blasted those expectations to pieces and replaced them with something so much better.

A quick recap of the main characters:
– Blue lives with a family of psychics and is destined to kill her true love.
– Gansey is afore mentioned love, searching for a dead king.
– Ronan is the Greywaren who can bring things out of his dreams.
– Adam is now a magician who is tied to Cabeswater (which, btw Ronan dreamt up).
– Noah is a ghost who was killed on the Ley Line which saved Gansey’s life.

So, to begin:
The plot.
It was fantastic. Fast-paced, full of drama and every character got a look in. Every character got their proper send off and ending to their own plot line. I loved every minute of it and how everyone’s stories were intertwined.

Depending on where you start, the story is about…
-Ronan and Adam. A big shock for me was discovering that Ronan has somehow become my favourite character in the entire series. For ages it was Noah, but…whoa. Ronan.
His interactions with Blue were the highlights for me and his character developed so, so much in this last book. I’m glad that the book ended with him, actually. Also, he and Declan repaired their relationship, which led to a touching scene between them.

-Adam a) didn’t die and b) faced up to his parents, which were both pretty major things. His character has had perhaps the biggest arc and has changed the most in terms of how he views himself and how he views the others.

-Blue Sargent. Blue realised that she was always something more than an amplifier in a family of psychics, and I love that. Her journey came to an appropriate end with Gansey and all.

-Gansey. Gansey was the Raven King (surprise!) and he died (again) but he came back to life, so it was all good. His sacrifice was well written, I felt his fear. He and Blue got their happy ending and their kiss.

-Noah Czerny. Noah wasn’t present for a lot of the book, but he did get his chapter to say goodbye, even if it was only to Gansey and to no one else. I kinda wish he’d had a proper goodbye scene, but hey ho.

– Henry Cheng I ended up really liking. Now, I can’t remember a lot of the third book and his appearance, so I don’t really remember if he was a total git or not. But yeah, he was pretty cool, him and his RoboBee. (Also don’t get me started on his magician speech at the end, I’m not sure whether I want to laugh at it or cry. In a good way, of course.)

-Another character that I very much like is Mr Gray, and the scene when he ‘kidnapped’ Henry had me in stitches. I like that Blue has just accepted him and that they seem to have quite an amicable relationship.

There are many more characters that I could talk about, but I would be here all day, so there are the most important ones (in my opinion).

Character-wise, it feels a little like Henry has taken Noah’s place and that everyone totally forgot about him. Literally no one mentioned him after the whole ‘being posessed’ thing. I’m not sure whether to be slightly annoyed at that or not, but at least Noah’s at peace.

The main villain of the book was Piper Greenmantle, who had very little screen time. It was mostly her actions (summoning a demon) which actually caused the destruction of Cabeswater and almost got everyone killed. The fact that she wasn’t killed by one of the main characters shows the different story arcs even more and how they barely even brush each other in some places. But everything is connected by Cabeswater and the Raven Boys and Blue.

I did like how their quest to find Glendower ultimately ended in him being dead, and the boys and Blue realising that they had a different quest all along. It just shows how paths and journeys can adapt and change, which was great to watch unfold.

One of my favourite scenes in the book was between Ronan, Adam and Orphan Girl/Opal when they are in Cabeswater. I just loved the dynamic between Ronan and Orphan Girl and getting to see it through Adam’s eyes made it all a lot clearer.

Anyone elses thoughts on this book? Did anyone dislike it? Let me know!

Holly xx

One thought on “The Raven King – Book Review

  1. Pingback: Reading Jar 2016! | *May Contain Spoilers*

Leave a Reply

