Hello!

Hello!

I’m Holly, nice to meet you. You like reading, you say? Good. We’ll get along great.

As this blog is going to be mostly dedicated to reviewing books (and potentially movies based off books), I thought that I would start things off with a list of my top 10 all-time favourite books/series. That way, you can get to know me a little, and I can see whether anyone wants to stick around.

Here we go!

10. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
Obviously this was going to be on here. I’m actually surprised that it’s not a lot higher, but it has been a long time since I read these. Everyone knows what this is about, so I really don’t need to explain. (Also, if I do, you should go read them instead. Just saying.)

9. Rose series by Holly Webb
This series holds a special place in my heart. Victorian era mixed with magic? Yes please! It is aimed at younger readers, but I have always adored these books, so yeah, they’re on the list. (The sequel series is not, btw; they’re terrible.)

8. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Romantic and hilarious, this book was finished within a day. It’s set in the stunning city of Paris with a cast of amazing characters. If you like rom-coms, you’ll definitely like this!

7. Gone series by Michael Grant
If you’re not a fan of gore, you may want to skip these ones. They are incredibly violent, however they are fast-paced and action packed. Think X-Men meets Under the Dome, with kids instead of adults and you’ll get the idea.

6. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
Rose Hathaway is a hero. If you haven’t read these, then please go read them, then come back. We have a cast of diverse characters and loads of action to see us through. Plus a sarcastic narrator. That’s always good.

5. Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan
Another sarcastic narrator, this time male. And half-god. I should probably mention that part.

4. Running Girl by Simon Mason
Mystery time! Garvie Smith is a genius and when his ex-girlfriend Chloe turns up dead, he can’t help but try to solve the case.

3. The Infernal Devices Trilogy by Cassandra Clare
Whilst I didn’t love The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices has long been one of my favourite trilogies. A devastating love triangle is actually the least of Tessa Gray’s worries, which must be saying something.

2. The Maze Runner Trilogy by James Dashner
Lots of people hate this trilogy. I love it. I love it mostly for the characters, like Minho and Newt (seriously, who doesn’t like those two?) and partly for the plot. If you like a happy (kind of) ending though, stop reading about three chapters into the third book.

1. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson
This book is beautiful. It’s based on Peter Pan and is narrated by Tinkerbell. I adore the imagery and the storyline is fantastic. If you’re a fan of Pan, or fantasy at all, then I strongly recommend that you read this book.

That’s me done! Feel free to tell me if you agree or disagree in the comments. Looking forward to it!

Holly xx

Leave a Reply

